Will the Real Jeff Van Gundy Please Show Up?


After peeking into my crystal ball, I am predicting (surprise!) that the Magic and Suns are going to lose their conference games. So, the playoffs are sort of like Whitney Houston’s comeback tour–they’ve featured the occasional high points, but, overall, they’ve been a huge disappointment. Lately, I have been paying attention to tiny details since I am not impressed by a series in which one team obliterates the other.

Will the Real Jeff Van Gundy Please Show Up?

Which leads me to my next point: does anyone have a problem with Jeff Van Gundy as the commentator for the Orlando Magic?

I do. I think Van Gundy’s commentary is honest, hilarious, and at times, eccentric–I love it.  But pay close attention to the next game. When the game gets close or Stan makes a bonehead decision, Van Gundy’s nasal voice disappears faster than Lebron did  in Game 5 against the Celtics.  In fact, there are long stretches where Mike Breen is the only voice being heard. I know Breen does the play-by-play and Van Gundy’s job is to provide the interesting anecdotes, but the chemistry between Breen, Jackson, and Van Gundy seems tense and forced, almost as though Jackson feels a bit uncomfortable saying anything negative about Van Gundy because he doesn’t want to step on anyone’s toes, particularly Jeff Van Gundy’s toes.

Again, I enjoy Van Gundy’s frank analysis. And there is nothing wrong with the Van Gundys showing each other a little brotherly love. But I want the old Jeff Van Gundy back–the one who isn’t afraid to criticize the coach, lazy players, and celebrities caught picking their nose on the Jumbotron (this hasn’t actually happened yet, but I am sure if it did, Van Gundy would say: “That’s just nasty–I don’t care if she is Beyonce”).

The Van Gundy brothers can reunite at the next family reunion, not during the NBA Finals.

~ by Miss Tea on May 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
